The history of Suzdal
- The first reference to Suzdal was made in the Chronicle in 1024 in connection with the peasants’ uprising suppressed by the prince Yaroslav the Wise. According to the archeological excavations the first settlements of Suzdal were organized in the 9th century.
- In the 12th century Suzdal was the capital of Rostov-Suzdal Principality. Yury Dolgoruky the first Suzdal prince in 1147 founded the city of Moscow. His wife and son are buried in the Church of St Boris and St Gleb.
- In the 14th century Suzdal became a religious center. There was started the construction of the brick Archbishop’s Chambers (the residence of Suzdal clergy of higher orders), the monasteries and other ensembles that still remain in Suzdal.
- Since the 16th century the monasteries of Suzdal were used as prisons for religious and political freethinkers and for some of the Great Russian princesses.
- In the beginning of the 17th century Suzdal was besieged by Poles and Lithuanians. The national army was led by the Suzdal born prince Dmitry Pozharsky. The tomb of the royal family Pozharsky is located in the in the Monastery of our Savior and St Euthimius.
- In the 18th century Suzdal lost its significance as a religious centre though remained a place of pilgrimage. In this time gardening and farming began to develop in Suzdal.
- In 1967 the Vladimir region was established. Suzdal became a district town. By a decision of the government Suzdal was turned into a town-museum and a tourist centre. In this way Suzdal is considered to be unique.
- In 1983 the «Golden Apple», a prestigious award from FIJET, the International Foundation of Journalists Writing About Tourism was presented to Suzdal for the preservation and restoration of monuments using them in the interests of tourism.