Time Zones in Russia

Time Zones in Russia

Photo by Денис Кулягин website Pixabay 

How many time zones does Russia have?

There are 11 time zones in Russia

  • Kaliningrad: GMT+02:00, EST +07:00
  • Moscow, St, Petersburg: GMT+03:00, EST +08:00
  • Samara: GMT+04:00, EST +09:00
  • Yekaterinburg: GMT+05:00, EST +10:00
  • Omsk: GMT+06:00, EST +11:00
  • Krasnoyarsk, Novosibirsk: GMT+07:00, EST +12:00
  • Irkutsk: GMT+08:00, EST +13:00
  • Yakutsk: GMT+09:00, EST +14:00
  • Vladivostok: GMT+10:00, EST +15:00
  • Srednekolymsk: GMT+11:00, EST +16:00
  • Kamchatka: GMT+12:00, EST +17:00

If you are traveling through Russia, and especially if you are taking a Trans-Siberian tour, keep in mind that the country is split into several time zones, so make sure that you are aware of the time changes during your journey. The borders of the time zones go along the borders of the member states of the Russian Federation, and come to a total of 11 time zones. Starting from 2011, daylight saving time is not used in Russia anymore.

Here you can find link you can find the current local time of whatever part of Russia that you are interested in.

6 Facts About Time Zones in Russia

1. When the sunrises in Moscow, people in the Far East are getting ready for bed.

2. Until very recently, Russian railroad tickets for every city used Moscow Time - independent of where you departed from. Starting on August 1, 2018, departure times on railway tickets are indicated in local time.

3. The Republic of Yakutia encompasses three time zones, the Sakhalin region has two and all other Russian regions are within one time zone.

4. In all of Tatarstan, time is measured after Moscow time, but in the neighboring region of Bashkir, they are already two hours ahead. That’s why some of the long-standing bridges that cross the river Ik, which marks the border between the two regions, are jokingly called „the longest ones“.

5. Russia’s favorite holiday is definitely New Year's. Many people from remote areas celebrate New Year’s twice: once according to local time and once according to Moscow time.

6. Russia’s time zones are constantly moving! The last change was made in the Volgograd region, which switched from Moscow to Samara time in 2018.

Our travel brands include

Join us on Facebook

We invite you to become a fan of our company on Facebook and read Russian news and travel stories. To become a fan, click here.

Join our own Russian Travel, Culture and Literature Club on Facebook. The club was created to be a place for everyone with an interest in Russia to get to know each other and share experiences, stories, pictures and advice. To join our club, please follow this link.

We use cookies to improve your experience on our Website, and to facilitate providing you with services available through our Website. To opt out of non-essential cookies, please click here. By continuing to use our Website, you accept our use of cookies, the terms of our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.